Skip to content

Comparison

Murmur vs Voco Speech

Voco Speech is a creator voiceover platform from Voco Speech. Murmur is a local voice studio for Mac and Windows. Here is how they differ on cost, privacy, cloning and output, using Voco Speech's own published details.

Buy $49Download free for Apple Silicon (3-day Pro trial)Intel Mac? Download here.Not sure? Apple menu > About This Mac shows your chip.Hear sample voices

Free plan with Kokoro voices, 3,000 characters a day · 3-day Pro trial, then $49 once

Local workflow

Voco Speech alternative

Murmur runs locally on Apple Silicon and Intel Macs and on 64-bit Windows 10 and 11 as a beta. The Mac app adds projects, a batch queue, community voices, and automation.

  • Voco Speech text to speech
  • Voco voice cloning Mac
  • Murmur vs Voco

01 · Context

Quick verdict

Voco Speech is the better pick for budget-minded creators with an Apple Silicon Mac or Windows PC who want a cheap local voice cloning and narration tool and can live with a small free allowance or a one-time Pro upgrade.

Murmur is the better pick if you work on a Mac or PC, want speech generated locally, and would rather pay $49 once than track characters, credits or a subscription.

02 · Overview

Voco Speech and Murmur side by side

Every Voco Speech entry below comes from Voco Speech's official website. Where the site did not say, the table says so instead of guessing.

Voco Speech details from its official pages, checked 2026-11-05. Prices can change; confirm on the vendor's site.
Voco SpeechMurmur
Pricing modelFree tier plus paid plansOne-time purchase
Free tierThe Free (Starter) plan includes 5 minutes of generation per month, refreshed monthly, with unlimited voice cloning.Free plan and 3-day Pro trial; 7-day refund
Paid plansPro: $9.99 lifetime (one-time purchase, no subscription; labeled 'Limited launch offer')$49 one-time for one computer (Mac or Windows), free plan and 3-day Pro trial, 7-day refund
Usage limitsFree plan is capped at 5 minutes of generation per month. Pro has no generation duration limit. No per-request character limits are stated.No character, minute or credit limits
PlatformsmacOS, WindowsMac (Apple Silicon or Intel) and Windows 10/11, 64-bit (beta)
Where speech is generatedLocally on your deviceLocal, on your Mac or PC
Works offlineNot clearly statedYes, after models are downloaded
Voice cloningYesYes, from a short reference recording
LanguagesNot stated600+ with the optional OmniVoice model
Export formatsNot statedWAV and M4A on Mac; WAV on Windows
Commercial useThe Terms of Service say the license covers use 'for your personal or commercial purposes, depending on your license tier' and 'We claim no ownership over the output you create.' Users are responsible for their outputs and for getting consent before cloning any person's voice. The pricing page does not state which tier allows commercial use.Depends on the license of the model you generate with; check each model's license

03 · Context

What Voco Speech does well

Very low one-time price: Pro is $9.99 lifetime with no subscription (limited launch offer).

Core text-to-speech and voice cloning run locally on the user's Mac or Windows machine, so scripts stay on the device.

Unlimited voice cloning on both Free and Pro, with no clone-count limits.

Delivery controls including Sound Tags, Emotion Selection and Speaking Styles.

04 · Highlights

When to stay with Voco Speech

Decision factorWhat it means
Your needs fit inside the free tierThe official free tier: the Free (Starter) plan includes 5 minutes of generation per month, refreshed monthly, with unlimited voice cloning. If that covers you, there is no reason to pay for anything.

05 · Highlights

When Murmur is the better fit

Decision factorWhat it means
Your scripts are private or unreleasedBoth tools generate on your machine. Murmur adds modern neural voices and cloning on top of local processing.
You generate a lot of audioVoco Speech charges through free tier plus paid plans. Murmur is $49 once with no character limits, so long audiobooks and repeated retakes cost nothing extra.
You produce finished audio, not just listeningMurmur is built around finished audio. The Mac app adds multi-speaker projects, per-line retakes and WAV or M4A export for editors such as Final Cut Pro, iMovie and Logic. The Windows beta exports WAV.

Sources

Where these facts come from

FAQ

Common questions

The Free (Starter) plan includes 5 minutes of generation per month, refreshed monthly, with unlimited voice cloning. Paid plans: Pro: $9.99 lifetime (one-time purchase, no subscription; labeled 'Limited launch offer').

macOS · Local TTS

Generate speech on your own computer

Murmur is $49 one-time for one computer, Mac or Windows, with a free plan and a 3-day Pro trial. Purchases have a 7-day refund window. Listen to the public samples before you buy.

Buy $49Download free for Apple Silicon (3-day Pro trial)Intel Mac? Download here.Not sure? Apple menu > About This Mac shows your chip.Compare all tools